Going For 100%

I just started replaying Resident Evil 2 on PC, having first played it on my then-new Xbox when it launched in 2019. I had tons of fun with it back then and did a few playthroughs, but never took the time to complete all the challenges and unlock all the goodies on offer. This time, I thought it would be fun to test my mettle and try to go for 100% completion.

All done!

I’ve done this with Resident Evil HD Remaster and Resident Evil 3, so I suppose it’s only fitting that RE2 gets the same treatment. Resident Evil is my favorite video game series, and one of the things I love about it is just how much time you can sink into these games that aren’t particularly long. There are always bonus modes such as The Mercenaries and The 4th Survivor for arcadey goodness, as well as unlockable weapons and costumes to shoot for. Getting rewarded with infinite ammo weapons, especially an infinite rocket launcher, always feels like a nice little achievement. RE3 included a points shop for unlockables, which I thought was a nice touch.

The points shop added lots of replayability to RE3.

I think 100% completion in video games is an interesting topic because there’s so much variance in opinions. Some people play a game once and never touch it again, always seeking new experiences. Others are hardcore achievement hunters who go for full completion with every game they play. I fall somewhere between those two, as I love replaying my games but will only go for all the achievements, challenges, etc. if I really like the game in question and think the list seems fun. If I see something like “Win 10,000 online matches”, I’m out. Beat the game on the highest difficulty? If I love the game, sure. Otherwise, maybe not. I feel like everyone has some criteria for how much time they’re going to spend on a single video game.

I’m looking forward to facing the challenges provided by Resident Evil 2 (hello, Ghost Survivors). A game that throws a bunch of extra tasks at you but makes them fun and rewarding is always a plus in my book. I can’t wait to see how tough The 4th Survivor is after not playing it for a few years, and will keep an eye out for any more games that make going for 100% a fun task.

Leave a comment